In the News

Collegiate Farm Bureau Leaders Receive Ron Hanson Scholarship

LINCOLN, NEB.– The Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation awarded the Ron Hanson Collegiate Leader Scholarship to three members of Collegiate Farm Bureau at the University of Nebraska – Lincoln (UNL) who are pursuing degrees from the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources (CASNR).

Emily Eilers, a sophomore from Wayne, Rebecca Wulf, a junior from Hooper, and Taylor Ruwe, a junior from Hooper, each received a $1,500 scholarship.

Dr. Ron Hanson, professor emeritus at the University of Nebraska – Lincoln, established the scholarship to reward students who prioritize leadership building activities while on campus.

“Dr. Hanson chose to continue his legacy of service through this scholarship, and we are so proud to steward his generous gift,” said Megahn Schafer, executive director of the Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation. “Dr. Hanson is a longtime Farm Bureau member who recognizes the value of getting involved to make a difference, and this scholarship encourages the next generation of leaders who will make their voices heard and better their communities.”

This year’s recipients rose to the top of a strong candidate pool. Applicants were judged based on their involvement with UNL Collegiate Farm Bureau, volunteer and leadership activities, and their goals for the future.

Emily Eilers

Eilers is pursuing a degree in Agricultural and Environmental Studies Communications with minors in Agricultural Leadership and Grazing. She is involved in volunteer organizations including UNL Collegiate Farm Bureau, where she serves as the vice president of communications and public relations, and  4-H and FFA where she helps youth learn concepts they can apply to their 4-H project and assists with the Agricultural Communications Career Development Event at State FFA Convention. After graduation, Eilers plans to pursue a position in agriculture communications, working with farmers and ranchers to tell their story in a purposeful way to consumers.

Rebecca Wulf

Wulf is pursuing a degree in Agricultural Education. She has been active in UNL Collegiate Farm Bureau for three years and currently serves as president of the chapter. Wulf also served as a student member on the Young Farmers and Ranchers Committee. Wulf is passionate about her volunteer service activities involving FFA and agricultural education.  Wulf plans to teach agriculture and become an FFA advisor. 

Taylor Ruwe

Ruwe is pursuing a degree in Agricultural Education but enjoys the policy side of agriculture. She has been active in the UNL Collegiate Farm Bureau, engaging in policy discussions at events such as Pumpkins and Policy at Vala’s Pumpkin Patch. She is passionate about the Nebraska Agricultural Youth Council and serves as president. She enjoys discussing agriculture with elementary students and visiting with high school students about the opportunities the Nebraska Agricultural Youth Institute and Collegiate Farm Bureau can provide them as they transition from high school to college.

“My congratulations to Emily, Rebecca, and Taylor as recipients of the 2023 Nebraska Farm Bureau Collegiate Leader Scholarship. It is my privilege to help recognize their outstanding leadership contributions and campus involvement to the Nebraska Farm Bureau and its collegiate chapter.  I applaud their efforts and goals as young agriculture leaders to be difference makers for the future of agriculture,” said Schafer.

The mission of the Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation is to engage youth, educators, and the general public to promote an understanding of the vital importance of agriculture in the lives of all Nebraskans. The Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit. For more information about the Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation, visit

More in:In the News

You may also like