Promotion and Education Committee

PURPOSE:  To serve as an active, statewide voice promoting a positive public perception of agriculture to consumers of all ages.

MISSION:  To lead Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation’s volunteer promotion and education efforts through member engagement, training and outreach education.

APPOINTMENT: Committee members are appointed by the President of the Nebraska Farm Bureau Federation and serve at the pleasure of the Nebraska Farm Bureau Federation Board of Directors.


  1. Plan, implement, and evaluate statewide Promotion and Education events and activities 
  2. Relay information from the State Promotion and Education Committee to county Farm Bureau Promotion and Education volunteers
  3. Serve as a resource to county Farm Bureaus in developing and facilitating projects and programs for consumers of all ages, including but not limited to: Agriculture in the Classroom, current agricultural issues, consumer relations, and promotion of Nebraska’s food, fuel, and fiber industry
  4. Encourage the development of county-level Promotion and Education programs

STAFF COORDINATOR:  Megahn Schafer, Executive Director, Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation

Committee Members:

Chair: Andra Smith, Blaine County
At-Large Federation Board Representative: Dawn Kucera, Madison County
Northwest Region: Natasha Schumacher, Box Butte County
North Central Region: Open
Northeast Region: Karen Grant, Madison County
Southwest Region: Tessa Stinson, Hayes County
Central Region: Julie Wilke, Platte County
South Central Region: Melissa Haack, Kearney/Franklin County
Southeast Region: Joy Lauritsen, Washington County